Typography and architecture
Changing attitudes, shifting forms

The goal of placing these images side-by-side in three different domains but in similar historical periods leads to the understanding that, in this century, ways of thinking lead artists and craftspersons into different areas to modify forms and tastes with respect to comparable sources.

Architecture

Ernst Gombrich talked about how the architects of the West struggled to build vaults in their churches, and how the idea was born in northern France from the principle of the Gothic style. This seemingly simple technical innovation allowed them to build a brand-new type of church: a hitherto unknown structure of stone and glass.

Most of the great cathedrals of the late twelfth century and early thirteenth centuries were designed on a scale so magnificent and so daring that few were completed according to the original plans. These new cathedrals offered the believer an earthly vision of the heavenly Jerusalem, that of songs and praise, its doors "each made of a single pearl. The great street of the city was of gold, as pure as transparent glass" (Revelation, 21:21).

During the thirteenth century, the time of the great cathedrals, France was the richest and most powerful country in Europe. The University of Paris was the intellectual hub of the Western world. However, although the design and methods of the great French cathedral builders were widely imitated in Germany and England, they did not – with some exceptions, such as the Cathedral of Milan – take root in Italy. Some Italian cities like Venice were in close contact with the Byzantine Empire, and Italian artists looked to Constantinople rather than Paris for example and inspiration.

Architecture shows us the trend in the fourteenth century towards taste, towards refinement instead of grandeur. The early Gothic style evolved towards a décor that was more effusive and complex, made possible by the growth of trade and the heyday of the prosperity of cities. In Italy, the Renaissance spirit had been born, and continued to grow and expand. The Italians had not forgotten that the power and the glory of Rome, which was once the heart of the civilized world, had vanished under the invasion of Germanic tribes. Compared with this Renaissance, the intervening period had been a Middle Age, and this term is still used today. They saw the Goths as destroyers of the Roman Empire, and designated art from this period Gothic.

For the Italians of the fourteenth century, art, science and scholarship had flourished in the Classical period, only to be virtually destroyed by barbarians from the North. They saw it as their mission to revive their glorious past. Starting with Brunelleschi, architects were expected to possess a sort of erudition, to understand the rules of the Classical orders and the correct proportions of Doric, Ionic and Corinthian columns and entablatures. They had to be familiar with ancient ruins and Classical treatises, such as that of Vitruvius, who codified Greek and Roman architecture. Above all, they "translated" a Gothic concept into classical forms, rounding off the pointed arch, which was deemed "barbaric".

A true Renaissance architect's ambition was to design a building that was completely devoid of utility. All that mattered was the beauty of the proportions, the harmony of the interior space and the overall grandeur. Practical matters generally made the desire for unity and perfect symmetry unattainable. Donato Bramante had fully assimilated the principles of architecture. His "Tempietto", which was to have been surrounded by a cloister of the same style, featured Doric columns topped with triglyphs and metopes and a small dome. The central cella arising within the building gives the building a completely unique character, while using the full range of the classical vocabulary.

Layout

The layout of medieval manuscripts offers a good illustration of the importance, in medieval education, of the gloss and of discussion. In all fields of knowledge, commentary lends authority. The texts of philosophers and theologians are presented accompanied by opposing arguments, based on the quotation of other, corresponding texts. The scribe brings together on a single page the sacred text and its (much longer) exegesis, or commentary. The primary text is completely surrounded by the gloss; writing size distinguishes the two, and symbols make connections between them. All of this makes reading the page a complex experience. Access to the text and its meaning requires knowledge beyond one's abilities at an initial reading.

Humanist printers were well-versed in their profession and concerned about the presentation and the physical quality of their publications. They turned book production on its head, making books easier to read, and also rigorously corrected previous editions that contained errors or imprecisions. At first, the layout of an incunabulum resembled that of a manuscript, and the first printers faithfully copied and reproduced the marginal glosses. However, if we compare the manuscript of the Book of Isaiah with the Code of Canon Law, we can see that that the mechanization of writing resulted in alignments that already improved readability. The metamorphosis of the page occurred in line with cultural shifts, and with improved techniques of typography and engraving.

On the other hand the innovators, supporters of the dissemination of secular thought eagerly took up printing to spread their ideas. It is no coincidence that the first book published at the College of the Sorbonne in 1470 was by an Italian humanist. Humanists who advocated a return to the original classical texts, stripped of their commentaries, provided impetus for new editions, and influenced research to find an ideal typeface and a clearer and more readable presentation, in the service of understanding the text. Notes were relegated first to the bottom of page and then gradually to the end of the chapter, and then to the end of the book. The main text was divided into airier lines that, between the newfound margins, was more easily readable. The text on the page of this incunabulum from 1492 is still somewhat compact, but the typography is neat, titles appear in capital letters in an open space and allow readers to find their place in the text. The proportions used to arrange the text on the page are reminiscent of calculations based on the Golden Canon, the Fibonacci sequence or the Canon of Villard de Honnecourt, a French architect from the thirteenth century.

Typography

Since printing was a lucrative activity from the very start, the early practitioners secured a return on their investments in machinery by printing texts that had already been a success in manuscript form. Initially, the technological breakthrough of printing increased distribution and decreased choice. Commercial success was assured by disturbing the tastes of the time as little as possible. The first incunabula were painstaking copies of manuscripts, down to the type characters imitating the scripts used to compose them: the characters were narrow, highly regular, dense and uniform. Text lines emerge only slowly, as the letters' upstrokes and downstrokes did nothing to improve readability. The goal of written and printed texts was to be an aid to the memory rather than to be actually read, as the reader was generally already familiar with the text.

Before the advent of the printing press, the church and the university kept the proliferation of writings under tight control, and this watchfulness increased with the acceleration that printing provided. Political and religious movements meant that printers often had to move their workshops. Their migrations and the slavish imitations of hand-written forms led the humanists to impose the ideas and forms of classical antiquity. Southern Europe tenaciously resisted cultural influences from the north. An illustration of this is the type that was designed and employed by Konrad Sweynheim and Arnold Pannartz, just a few years after the spread of Gutenberg's printing press, when they fled Germany and sought refuge near Rome. These letters retain the density and the narrowness of blackletter type, but the shapes of the letters stand out more from each other. The "m" and "n" in particular show the influence of the lowercase humanistic manuscripts, and the curves in the "o", "b" and "d" also display characteristics of southern calligraphic styles. The upper and lower parts of letters stand out more from the line of text, and letters are more detached from each other within words.

In the end, forms became more slender, and display contrast thanks to a perfect balance between roundness and verticality. The text became lighter to the eye. These formal changes accompanied texts that were both new and devoid of commentaries, provided to readers for critical reading and study. Careful observation also reveals the disappearance of a number of ligatures and abbreviations that made the act of reading more complex. This formal balance between movement and stability is reminiscent of the canons of classical antiquity as expressed in architecture and sculpture.

Teaching guide n°1

LEVEL

Primary

RELEVANT AREAS OF INSTRUCTION

History, geography, arts, art history

DocumentDownload the PDF
of this page

TO LEARN MORE

The cathdrals of Villard de Honnecourt
http://classes.bnf.fr/villard/index.htm


The Renaissance
http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/ hi/te_index.asp?i=16

Typographie et architecture
Évolution des mentalités, mutation des formes

La mise en parallèle de ces images dans trois domaines différents mais sur des périodes historiques comparables, vise à permettre de comprendre que dans ce siècle les courants de pensée mènent dans différents domaines les artistes et artisans à faire évoluer les formes et les goûts autour de sources comparables.

L’architecture

Ernst Gombrich rappelle combien à peine les architectes de l’Occident étaient-ils parvenus à voûter leurs églises, que l’idée prit naissance dans le nord de la France du principe du style gothique. Cette apparente simple innovation technique permit de construire une église d’un type tout à fait nouveau : un édifice de pierre et de verre alors inconnu.

La plupart des grandes cathédrales de la fin du XIIe siècle et du début du XIIIe siècle ont été conçues à une échelle si audacieuse et si magnifique que bien peu ont été achevées selon les plans primitifs. Ces nouvelles cathédrales offraient au croyant une vision terrestre de la Jérusalem céleste, celle des hymnes et des sermons avec ses portes faites, chacune d’une perle, ses joyaux sans prix, ses rues d’or pur et de verre transparente (Apocalypse, XXI).

Au cours de cette période des grandes cathédrales, au XIIIe siècle, la France était le pays le plus riche et le plus puissant de l’Europe. L’Université de Paris était le centre intellectuel du monde occidental. Cependant si la conception et les méthodes des grands bâtisseurs de cathédrales françaises furent largement imitées en Allemagne et en Angleterre; elles ne trouvèrent que peu d’écho en Italie, malgré quelques exceptions comme la cathédrale de Milan. Certaines villes italiennes, comme Venise, étaient en contact étroit avec l’Empire byzantin, et les artistes italiens cherchaient plutôt à Constantinople qu’à Paris exemple et inspiration.

L’architecture illustre la tendance du XIVe siècle du goût, davantage pour le raffinement que pour la grandeur. Le style gothique primitif évolue vers un style au décor plus foisonnant et compliqué rendu possible par le développement du commerce et l’apogée de la prospérité des villes. En Italie, l’idée d’une Renaissance existe alors déjà et ne cessera de se renforcer par la suite. Les italiens n’avaient pas oublié que, la puissance et la gloire de Rome, centre du monde civilisé, s’étaient évanouies avec l’invasion des tribus germaniques. La période intermédiaire avait été un Moyen Âge, au regard de cette renaissance, et cette terminologie est encore employée aujourd’hui. Ils voyaient dans les Goths les destructeurs de l’Empire romain et en vinrent à désigner l’art de cette période comme gothique.

L’art, la science et l’érudition avaient fleuri à l’époque classique, puis avaient été quasi détruits par les barbares du Nord, pour les Italiens du XIVe siècle. Ils pensaient qu’ils leur appartenaient de faire revivre un glorieux passé. Depuis Brunelleschi, l’architecte devait posséder une sorte d’érudition, connaître les règles des « ordres » antiques, les justes proportions des colonnes, et entablements doriques, ioniques et corinthiens. Il devait être familier des ruines antiques et des traités classiques comme celui de Vitruve, codificateur de l’architecture grecque et romaine. Ils « traduisent » alors avant tout un schéma gothique en formes classiques, émoussant l’arc brisé — réputé « barbare ».

Un véritable architecte de la Renaissance avait pour ambition de concevoir un édifice en dehors de toute idée d’utilité. Seule la beauté des proportions de l’harmonie de l’espace intérieur et de la grandeur de l’ensemble lui importaient. Son aspiration à l’unité et à une symétrie parfaite était généralement rendue impossible par les exigences de l’ordre pratique. Donato Bramante avait parfaitement assimilé les principes de l’architecture. Son « Tempietto » que devait entourer un cloître du même style comportent des colonnes doriques surmontées de triglyphes et de métopes et d’une petite coupole. La cella centrale surgissant de l’intérieur du bâtiment confère à l’édifice un caractère inédit tout en employant tout le vocabulaire classique.

La mise en page

La mise en page des livres manuscrits illustre efficacement l’importance, dans l’enseignement médiéval de la glose, de la discussion. Dans tous les domaines de la connaissance le commentaire fait autorité. Les textes de philosophes ou de théologiens sont présentés accompagnés d’arguments opposés, s’appuyant sur la citation d’autres textes se répondant les uns, les autres. Le copiste réunit alors dans une même page le texte sacré et son exégèse, son commentaire, beaucoup plus long. Le texte principal est alors complètement encerclé par la glose, la taille des écritures les distingue et des signes permettent des renvoient de l’un à l’autre. L’ensemble rend la lecture de la page complexe. L’accès au texte et à sa signification nécessite des connaissances au delà de la capacité de lecture première.

Les imprimeurs humanistes sont rompus avant tout à leur métier et soucieux de la présentation et de la qualité matérielle de leurs éditions. À leur époque ils bouleversent la présentation du livre qu’ils rendent plus claire, et accompagnent ce phénomène d’une exigence rigoureuse de correction des éditions précédentes comportant erreurs ou approximations. Dans un premier temps la page d’un incunable copie celle d’un manuscrit et les premiers imprimeurs procèdent par mimétisme formel et reproduisent fidèlement ces gloses marginales. Néanmoins si l’on compare le manuscrit du livre d’Isaïe avec le code de droit canonique on comprend que la mécanisation de l’écriture contraint à des alignements qui procurent déjà une amélioration de la lisibilité. La métamorphose de la page s’opère au fil des courants culturels et de l’amélioration des techniques de typographie et de gravure.

D’autre part les novateurs, partisans de la diffusion d’une pensée laïque vont se saisir de l’imprimerie pour diffuser leurs idées. Ce n’est pas un hasard si le premier livre édité au collège de la Sorbonne en 1470 est un texte d’un humaniste italien. Les humanistes qui prônent le retour aux textes anciens originaux, dégagé de ces commentaires, incitent à de nouvelles éditions et influent pour que des recherches soient menées vers un type de caractère idéal et une présentation plus claire et lisible, au service de la compréhension du texte. Ce dernier voit ses notes reléguées d’abord en bas de page, puis progressivement à la fin du chapitre puis de l’ouvrage. Le texte principal se découpe en lignes plus aérées, se donne à lire désormais dans des marges retrouvées. La page de cet incunable de 1492 présente un texte encore compact mais la typographie est soignée, des titres apparaissent en capitales dans un espace dégagé et permettent de se repérer dans le texte. Son empagement renvoie à des proportions qui rappellent des calculs établis selon le nombre d’or, la suite de Fibonacci ou encore le canon connu sous le nom de « canon de Villard de Honnecourt », architecte français, au cours du XIIIe siècle.

La typographie

L’imprimerie étant dès ses débuts une activité lucrative, il s’agit pour ces pionniers de rentabiliser le coût de l’investissement des machines nécessaires à a reproduction, son apparition ne permet dans un premier temps que de répandre des textes ayant déjà connus un grand succès sous forme de manuscrit. Cette découverte technologique permettra dans un premier temps une amplification de la diffusion et une sélection. Le succès commercial veille à être assuré en déstabilisant le goût de l’époque le moins possible, les premiers incunables sont des fac-similés les plus fidèles possibles des manuscrits, jusque dans les caractères qui reproduisent la lettre de forme la plus employée dans ces ouvrages, caractère de chasse étroite, très régulier, dense et uniforme. Des lignes de texte n’émergent que peu les ascendantes et descendantes des lettres atténuant la lisibilité du texte. Le texte écrit ou imprimé a plus vocation à être un support à la mémoire qu’à être véritablement lu, il est le plus souvent déjà connu par le lecteur.

Avant l’apparition de l’imprimerie, l’Église et l’Université contrôlent déjà rigoureusement la multiplication des écrits, cette attention s’accroît avec l’accélération que le procédé engendre. Les événements politiques et religieux mèneront les imprimeurs à déplacer souvent leurs ateliers. Ces migrations et ce rapport aux formes manuscrites participeront à l’élan des humanistes d’imposer les idées et les formes de l’Antiquité. Le sud de l’Europe a veillé à opposer une résistance tenace aux influences culturelles des peuples venus du nord. Le caractère conçu et employé par Conrad Sweynheim et Arnold Pannartz, seulement quelques années après la diffusion de l’imprimerie par Gutenberg, alors qu’ils ont fui l’Allemagne et se sont réfugiés près de Rome en est une illustration typographique. Ces lettres conservent la densité et l’étroitesse du caractère gothique, cependant les formes des lettres se distinguent davantage les unes des autres. Les m et les n en particulier, comportent des influences de la lettre minuscule humanistique des manuscrits, le o, les b, les d comportent des rondeurs également caractéristiques des modèles calligraphiques employés dans le sud. Les parties hautes et basses des lettres se distinguent davantage de la ligne de texte, les lettres sont davantage détachées les unes des autres dans les mots.

Enfin les formes s’affinent définitivement et se contrastent avec un équilibre parfait entre rondeur et verticalité. Le texte s’est éclairci optiquement. Ces évolutions formelles participent à une mise à disposition auprès des lecteurs de textes à la fois inédits et dégagés de leurs commentaires, livrés à la lecture critique et l’étude du lecteur. Une observation attentive permet également de remarquer la disparition de nombre de ligature et d’abréviation qui complexifiait la lecture. Cet équilibre formel entre mouvement et stabilité renvoie aux canons classiques de l’Antiquité explorés dans l’architecture ou la sculpture.

Fiche pédagogique n°1

NIVEAU

Primaire

ENSEIGNEMENTS IMPLIQUÉS

Histoire, géographie, arts, histoire des arts

DocumentTélécharger la fiche
au format PDF

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Les cathédrales de Villard de Honnecourt
http://classes.bnf.fr/villard/index.htm


La Renaissance
http://www.rmn.fr/La-Renaissance