Typography and mathematics

Renaissance artists' and scholars' fascination with mathematics included the domain of the alphabet, and they assiduously studied the proportions and styles of engraved capitals still visible on classical Roman monuments.

Renaissance artists and writing

The development of geometric perspective in the 1420s convinced artists of the period that the whole of reality could be expressed in numerical formulae, at the same time that the works of Greek mathematicians such as Pythagoras seemed to them to be the high point of ancient civilization (whose perfection, they were convinced, arose from the systematic, rational application of the laws of geometry). The early sixteenth century saw the publication of a number of scholarly studies aimed at discovering the calculations that governed the construction of Roman capitals. These were written by mathematicians (Fra Luca Pacioli, Italy, 1509), artists (Albrecht Dürer, Germany, 1525) and "men of the book" (Geoffroy Tory, France, 1529).

Comparaison of renaissance models

These works are reflected in the progressive achievement of the letterpress process, in which the printed letter gradually pulls away from the influence of writing (and the tools used, such as pen, reed pen, flat brush, etc.). It becomes a visual object more closely related to drawing because of its contour (the accession of punch-cutting to the status of a discipline, with its own design processes and modes of aesthetic evaluation, undoubtedly plays a role in this). This transition, from an "organic" form produced by the nature of the writing tool and the movement of the hand, towards a "constructed" form developed by the outline and slowly refined by the tools of the punch-cutter, brings with it a new rationality, whose source is to be found, as was thought at the time, in the universal laws of mathematical science.

Comparaison of the roman forms of Jenson, Griffo and Garamond

Models from the Classical period

This thought process reaches its culmination in the late seventeenth century with the development of the romain du roi. A scientific committee under the leadership of Abbot Bignon (1662–1743), after considering "the best examples of ancient and modern characters", produced a series of mathematically precise grids (for upper- and lowercase letters in both roman and italic) engraved on copper plates. The artisan responsible for cutting the punches based on these "ideal" drawings, Philippe Grandjean (1665–1714), was forced to adjust some of the more radically theoretical constructs to the realities of his discipline. As Pierre Simon Fournier pointed out a few decades later, in his Manuel typographique (1742), the tiny scale at which a letter is carved in relief and in reverse on the tip of a punch made the committee's typographical recommendations generally inapplicable.

Comparaison between a plate engraved by Simonneau
and a character in a very small font

Another effort by the committee that was equally rational but more long-lived involved the definition of a unit of measurement for letter sizes based on existing typefaces. Up to that point, sizes were defined by a series of proper names (Mignonne, Philosophie, Parangon, Cicéro, etc.). The concept of size was based on the relationship of the letters with each other based on a standard unit. This is still the system used today: the unit is called the point, which has a value of 0.3527 mm).

Optical adjustments

Our eyes play tricks on us. For example, if you line up a rectangle, a circle and a triangle that are exactly the same height, the triangle and the circle will appear smaller than the rectangle. In typography, an uppercase H, A and O on the same line will produce the same effect. For aesthetic reasons, but also for ease of reading, it is important that all of the letters appear to be the same height. The work of the typographer is to offset these optical sensations in order to make the character shapes appear similar. Mathematical precision is not the answer to every design problem; typography calls for a knowledge of other sciences and must factor in other phenomena.

As you do Activity 1, you will see that, for a capital O to appear to be in line with the other letters and to have a uniform thickness, optical adjustments are needed. It's not enough to make an O with two concentric circles (the uppercase O in Futura is an example of this).

Activity 2 shows the impact of handwriting on type design. Even though typographers take science and mathematics into account, achieving high-quality letters is less about science and more about practical experience. The slight lack of symmetry in the layout of these uppercase Garamond Os shows that in the calligraphic gesture, the hand carries more weight in the downward than in the upward stroke, and that the curve bends later in the left-hand portion of the character than in the right.

Teaching guide n°3

LEVEL

Secondary school: themes « Art, techniques, expressions »

High school: themes « Art, sciences and techniques »

RELEVANT AREAS OF INSTRUCTION

French, history-geography, arts, mathematics, physical sciences, technology, art history

DocumentDownload the PDF
of this page

Activity 1

Does the uppercase Futura O consist of two concentric circles ?

Activity 2

Look at a Garamond uppercase O. Is there an axis of symmetry in it? Is it the same for the outside of the O and the inside ?

Drawing geometric forms of a capital H, A and O.

Typographie et mathématiques

La fascination des artistes et des érudits de la Renaissance pour les mathématiques ne peut ignorer le domaine de la lettre, et en particulier les capitales gravées encore visibles sur les monuments romains de l'Antiquité dont ils étudient assidûment les proportions et les styles architecturaux.

Les artistes de la Renaissance et l'écriture

La mise au point de la perspective géométrique, dans les années 1420, les a convaincus que la réalité toute entière était exprimable en formules chiffrées, en même temps que l'œuvre de mathématiciens grecs comme Pythagore leur apparaît comme l'apogée de la civilisation antique (dont ils ne doutent pas qu'elle tire sa perfection d'une application systématique et rationnelle des lois de la géométrie). Le début du XVIe siècle voit donc la publication de nombreuses études savantes visant à découvrir le mode de calcul régissant la construction des capitales romaines, signées de mathématiciens (Fra Luca Pacioli, Italie, 1509), d'artistes (Albrecht Dürer, Allemagne, 1525) ou d'« hommes du livre » (Geoffroy Tory, France, 1529).

Comparaison de modèles de la renaissance

Ces travaux trouvent un écho dans la réalisation progressive de la spécificité du procédé typographique, qui voit la lettre imprimée se détacher graduellement de l'influence de l'écriture (et des outils employés dans son exécution, plume, calame, pinceau plat) pour devenir un objet visuel davantage lié au dessin par le contour (l'accession de la gravure des poinçons au statut de discipline autonome, possédant ses propres processus de conception et ses modes particuliers d'évaluation esthétique, joue sans doute un rôle déterminant dans cette évolution). Ce changement, d'une forme « organique », produite par la nature de l'outil d'écriture et le mouvement de la main, à une forme « construite », élaborée par le contour et lentement raffinée par les outils du graveur de poinçons, implique une nouvelle rationalité dont la source est à chercher, selon les conceptions de l'époque, dans les lois universelle de la science mathématique.

Comparaison des romains de Jenson, Griffo et Garamond

Les modèles de l'époque classique

Cette réflexion culmine à la fin du XVIIe siècle avec la mise au point du Romain du Roi, pour laquelle un comité scientifique placé sous la direction de l'abbé Bignon (1662–1743) produira, après avoir étudié « les meilleurs exemples de caractères anciens et modernes », des grilles de construction (pour les capitales et les bas-de-casse, en romain et italique) gravées sur cuivre, d'une absolue précision mathématique. Le graveur chargé de l'exécution des poinçons à partir de ces dessins « idéaux », Philippe Grandjean (1665–1714), se trouvera dans l'obligation d'en adapter les options les plus exagérément théoriques aux réalités de sa discipline : l'échelle minuscule à laquelle une lettre se trouve sculptée, en relief et à l'envers, à l'extrémité d'un poinçon typographique rendait en effet globalement inapplicables les préconisations du comité, comme le soulignera Pierre Simon Fournier quelques décennies plus tard, dans son Manuel typographique (1742).

Comparaison entre une planche gravée par Simonneau
et une lettre en très petit corps

Dans un registre tout aussi rationnel mais promis à un bien plus grand avenir, le comité travaillera également à définir une unité de mesure des tailles des lettres à partir des corps existants, alors désignés par des noms propres (Mignonne, Philosophie, Parangon, Cicéro, etc.). La notion de corps est donc une notion de rapport qui définit la taille des lettres les unes par rapport aux autres à partir d'une unité de base : c'est, aujourd'hui encore, le système employé en typographie numérique (l'unité est le point pica, d'une valeur de 0,3527 mm).

Les corrections optiques

Nos yeux nous jouent des tours. Par exemple si vous alignz un rectangle, un cercle et un triangle tenant exactement entre les mêmes lignes horizontales le triangle et le cercle semblent moins haut que le rectangle. En typographie, un H, un A et un O capitales sur une même ligne sont soumis au même phénomène optique. Pour des questions esthétiques mais également de confort de lecture il est important que les lettres semblent toutes de la même taille. Le travail du typographe est alors de compenser ces sensations optiques pour homogénéiser la forme des caractères. Aussi la précision mathématique ne permet-elle pas de résoudre tous les problèmes de dessin et la typographie fait donc appel à la connaissance d'autres sciences et tient compte d'autres phénomènes.

Vous vérifiez en réalisant l'activité 1 que pour qu'un O donne la sensation de s'aligner sur les autres lettres et d'avoir une graisse régulière il faut opérer des corrections optiques et ne pas le tracer à l'aide deux cercles concentriques (exemple avec un O capital Futura).

L'activité 2 permet de prendre conscience de l'incidence du geste de l'écrit dans le dessin de caractère et que bien que les connaissances scientifiques et mathématiques aient été prises en compte par les typographes la référence est moins scientifique que pratique pour obtenir la qualité des formes des grands caractères. La légère absence de symétrie dans le tracé de ces O Garamond marque que dans le geste calligraphique la main porte plus de poids dans le tracé descendant que dans le tracé montant et la courbe s'infléchit donc plus tardivement dans la partie gauche du caractère que dans la partie droite.

Fiche pédagogique n°3

NIVEAU

Collège: thématiques « Arts, techniques, expressions »

Lycée: thématique « Arts, sciences et techniques »

ENSEIGNEMENTS IMPLIQUÉS

Français, histoire-géographie, arts, mathématiques, sciences physiques, technologie, histoire des arts

DocumentTélécharger la fiche
au format PDF

Activité 1

La capitale O du Futura est-elle constituée de deux cercles concentriques ?

Activité 2

La lettre O du Garamond a-t-elle un axe de symétrie ?

Dessin de formes géométriques d'un H, d'un A et d'un O.