Search engines

Using the search engine page, users come into contact with typographic variables and decode the meaning ascribed to them in this specific context. These changes in the appearance of the letters were gradually introduced to provide the reader with reference points. They create visible hierarchies and allow meaning to emerge. This is also the means for accessing the author's thought over and above the words used. The variables that interest us in the case of search engine pages are connected to a functional viewpoint in order for readers to situate themselves in various levels and amidst various types of information.
Among the different variables, the weight variable complies with appearance of the character by conforming with the existing contrast between a letter's upstrokes (the thickest lines) and downstrokes (the thinnest) so that the whole constitutes a family.

Size

The measure of a character's dimensions, expressed in points. For well-designed characters, different type sizes will have different designs, in order to retain readability, regardless of size. Specifically, in smaller-sized characters the counters tend to become visually "blocked" (in the days of letterpress printing they would fill with ink).

Weight

Refers to the thickness of a letter. Varying the weight consists of making the thin and thick strokes heavier or lighter. Fonts with the thinnest weight variants are called Ultra-light, Light and Thin, while the thickest are referred to as Bold, UltraBold, ExtraBold, Black, UltraBlack and ExtraBlack, in reference to a standard weight, known as Regular or Normal. At first, the visual hierarchy established by a difference in colour (more or less black) was obtained by mixing characters of different shapes (see style below), as we can see in the first "Letters of indulgence" printed by Gutenberg and/or his former associates Fust and Schöffer.

Case

The use in the same family of capital and small letters. The relation between these two aspects of a letter did not always exist for every character style: the first works published by Aldus Manutius printed in italics (see slope) used roman capital letters because there were no italic capitals.

Width

Refers to the width of a character. Weights can range from ultra-light to extra-bold. The character is then said to be extended or condensed, in reference to the standard weight of the character, known as regular or normal.

Slope

Refers to the axis of the letter; in italics the slope is at an angle. While upright ("roman") letters appear calm, static and "serious", italics are reminiscent of rapid handwriting, and retain a trace of the original velocity.

Style

In Garamont's time, printers carried over the variety of styles found in medieval manuscripts into their technical processes: Blackletter, humanist letters, italics. The distinction between serif and sans serif letters appeared much later. Combining them in a single text soon became meaningful since forms are consciously or unconsciously associated with the cultures and eras in which they first appeared.

Teaching guide n°5

Levels

Secondary school: theme «Art, techniques, expressions»
High school: theme «Art, sciences and techniques»

Implied instruction

French, history-geography, art, technology, art history

DocumentDownload the PDF
of this page

Activity

The search engine page below no longer has the usual reference points created by differences in type and colour. After listing those that you remember and that you found on the reference page, try and re-establish them and/or design new ones for each function that you listed by using the full set of existing variables.

Moteurs de recherche

Par la page des moteurs de recherche, chaque internaute côtoie les variables typographiques et décode le sens qui leur est attribué dans ce contexte spécifique. Ces modifications de l’aspect des lettres ont été peu à peu mises en place pour fournir des repères au lecteur. Ceux-ci permettent de percevoir des hiérarchies et d’en faire émerger du sens. C’est également le moyen d’accéder à la pensée de l’auteur au delà des mots employés. Les variables qui nous intéressent dans le cas des pages des moteurs de recherche sont liées à une réflexion d’ordre fonctionnel afin que le lecteur se situe dans différents niveaux et différentes natures d’informations.
Parmi les différentes variables, celles de graisse et de chasse veillent à respecter la physionomie du caractère en respectant dans leurs modifications le contraste existant entre les pleins (traits les plus forts) et les déliés (traits les plus fins) de la lettre afin que l’ensemble constitue bien une famille).

Le corps

Il s’agit de la taille (dimension) d’un caractère. Il s’exprime en points. Dans un caractère bien conçu, un dessin différent sera produit afin qu’il conserve sa lisibilité quelle que soit la taille, où on l’emploie, car en particulier dans les plus petits corps les contreformes auront tendance à « se boucher » visuellement (au temps de l’impression typographique elles se remplissaient d’encre).

La graisse

Il s’agit de l’épaisseur de la lettre, une variation de graisse consiste en une modification de l’épaisseur des pleins et des déliés, il s’agit d’un engraissement ou d’un amaigrissement. Cette variable se note par l’attribut Ultra-light, Light, Thin pour les plus fins à Bold, UltraBold, ExtraBold, Black, UltraBlack, ExtraBlack pour les plus grasses, en référence au caractère standard dit Regular ou Normal. Initialement la hiérarchie visuelle établie par une différence de couleur dans le texte (plus ou moins noir) est obtenue en mélangeant des caractères de formes différentes (voir le style), comme le montrent pour exemple les premières « Lettres d’indulgence » imprimées par Gutenberg et/ou ses ex-associés Fust et Schöffer.

La casse

Il s’agit de l’emploi dans une même famille de lettres capitales (majuscules) ou bas de casse (minuscules). La concordance entre ces deux aspects de la lettre n’a pas toujours existé pour tous les styles de caractères : les premiers ouvrages d’Alde Manuce imprimés en lettres italiques (voir la pente) employaient des lettres capitales en romain puisque la casse de lettres minuscules italiques ne comportait pas de capitales.

La chasse

Il s’agit de la largeur du caractère. Cette dimension peut être étroitisée ou élargie. Le caractère est alors nommé Condensed ou Extended (il existe aussi parfois des versions ExtraCondensed ou ExtraExtended) en référence au caractère de chasse standard dit Regular ou Normal.

La pente

Il s’agit de l’axe de la lettre, il est incliné dans les lettres italiques. Si les lettres droites, dites romaines, présentent un aspect posé, statique et « sérieux », les lettres italiques font écho au tracé manuscrit rapide, à la note, elles conservent la trace de la vélocité.

Le style

À l’époque de Garamond, les imprimeurs s’emploient à traduire et exploiter dans le cadre de leur propre procédé technique la diversité des écritures employées dans les manuscrits qu’ils reproduisent : lettres gothiques, lettres humanistiques, italiques. Bien plus tard apparaît la distinction entre les lettres avec et sans empattements. Leur mélange dans un même texte est bientôt porteur de sens puisqu’aux formes sont consciemment ou inconsciemment associées les cultures et les époques qui les ont vu naître.

Fiche pédagogique n°5

NIVEAU

Collège : thématique « Arts, techniques, expressions »
Lycée : thématique « Arts, sciences et techniques »

ENSEIGNEMENTS IMPLIQUÉS

Français, histoire-géographie, arts, technologie, histoire des arts

DocumentTélécharger la fiche
au format PDF

Activité

La page des moteurs de recherche ci-dessous ne comporte plus les repérages courants établis par les variables typographiques et colorés. Après avoir listé ceux dont vous vous souvenez ou que vous aurez repéré sur la page habituelle existante, il vous est proposé de les rétablir et/ou de vous en concevoir de nouveaux pour chacune des fonctions que vous aurez listé en employant l’ensemble des variables existantes.